Media Centre
JCCV Recognition Awards 2010

JCCV Recognition Awards 2010

16 February 2011

In 2006 the JCCV launched its Community Recognition Awards to recognise and honour those members of our community who have tirelessly given of themselves to our community.

John Searle, JCCV President, said the Jewish community's volunteers were  its lifeblood,  so each year the JCCV affiliates are invited to nominate someone from their organisation to publicly receive the recognition they duly deserve.  In addition, the JCCV Executive present the General Sir John Monash Award for Outstanding Service to the Jewish Community, to a person who has demonstrated an exceptional and outstanding commitment to the Victorian Jewish Community over a long period of time.  Phil Symons OAM was the recipient for 2010. The awards were presented by Sir James Gobbo AC.

The award presentations also featured a showcase of community talent  including Aaron Max, Esther Goldenbum and Tamara Vasivilitsky.

The JCCV was delighted to welcome the Australian Jewish News (AJN) to the JCCV Community Recognition Awards. The “Unsung Hero Award” is an exciting initiative by the AJN and awards were presented to Sean Aisen and Jack Klarnet, exceptional people who perform selfless acts of courage or random acts of kindness, with no thought of personal reward or recognition.

Award Recipients

Access Inc                                                           
Danni Mahemoff

Australian Jewish Historical Society  
Ian Samuel OAM

Australian Jewish Psychologists          
Vicki Gordon OAM

B’nai B’rith Victoria Inc                                
Assia New

Bialik College                                                     
Alan Goldstone

Progressive Union of Judaism                   
Dorothy Nathan

Blake Street HC                                               
Professor David Abramson

Community Security Group                       
Dan Sztrajt

Council of Orthodox Synagogues          
Jack Feldman

Emmy Monash Aged Homes                     
Rosemary Korngold

Jewish Aid                                                          
Galit Krongold

Jewish Care Victoria Inc                               
Robyne Schwarz

Jewish Cultural Centre & National Library (Kadimah)  
Rachel Kalman OAM

Jewish Holocaust Centre                              
Kitia Altman

Jewish Museum of Australia                      
Mim Segal

Kehilat Nitzan                                                  
Judy Feiglin

Kew Hebrew Congregation                        
Jack Bernstein

Maccabi Victoria                                            
Leon Haskin

Magen David Adom                                      
John Sojka

Melbourne Hebrew Congregation           
Leonard Yaffe

NCJWA Victoria                                                
Susie Ivanyi

Oz Shalom TV                                                  
Eva Singer

Sephardi Association of Victoria          
Danny Jaffe

Shalom Association                                       
Bella Meylikh

Sholem Aleichem College                             
Dr Sharon Goldfeld

St Kilda Hebrew Congregation                  
Kay Levy

The Jewish Taskforce Against Family Violence  
Andrea Bliss

The King David School                                   
David Kobritz

Theodor Herzl Social Club Inc                     
Peter Berkovits

Jeffery Greenberg

Ruby Grose

WIZO Victoria                                                   
Hedy Schwartz

Zionist Council of Victoria                            
Eitan Drori


  • Connect/Share

  • Email
  • Twitter
  • Facebook