Media Centre

Click here to download 20081125-JohnSearleNewPresidentofJCCV.pdf

John Searle - New President of JCCV

25 November 2008

John Searle assumes presidency of JCCV

At its Annual General Meeting on 24 November 2008, Melbourne barrister John Searle succeeded Anton Block as President of the Jewish Community Council of Victoria.

Searle paid tribute to Block’s commitment and achievements in the role, stating he was both honoured and to some extent daunted by the prospect of being Block’s successor. Searle said, “I feel very humbled to receive the support of the entire Executive and I am confident that this team of skilled and talented people will build on Anton’s rock-solid foundation”.

With an extensive background in law and communal work Searle brings a vast array of skills, talent and experience to the JCCV. He has demonstrated his commitment to the Jewish community over many years and has been extremely successful in all such positions, earning the respect of his colleagues and peers.

Searle’s communal experience is particularly varied.

It includes terms of office on B’nai B’rith Youth committees and heading the JCCV security group (now CSG). He was the founding president of Blake Street Hebrew Congregation and has served on its Executive, including chairing its building fund. In addition, Searle was Vice-President of Friends of Beit Halochem Victoria and has been a member of the JCCV Executive and a Victorian Councillor on the Executive Council of Australian Jewry, serving as a member of its Committee of Management for some years. Searle is also the outgoing Chairperson of the Anti-Defamation Commission.

JCCV plenum delegates were enthusiastic about Searle’s appointment with Executive members stating they were “thrilled to have someone of John’s calibre in the position”.

In other changes, Daniel Aghion was appointed Vice-President and Mory Kalkopf as the incoming Treasurer. Other Executive members include Dr Dvir Abramovich, Anton Block, Dr Mervyn Cass, Peter Eben, Dr Braham Goldberg, Lindsey Joffe, Dr Danny Lamm, Gerard Max, Rimma Sverdlin and Simon Tisher,

Both Mr Searle and Mr Block paid tribute to former Treasurer Laurence Slomoi and other outgoing members, Phillip Apelbaum, Fran Bergman and Alon Cassuto.

For further information, please contact:

Geoffrey Zygier 0413 731 545


  • Connect/Share

  • Email
  • Twitter
  • Facebook